W. J. Dixon Award for Excellence in Statistical Consulting

Most Recent Winner

Albert Madansky

Albert Madansky

The University of Chicago

For his myriad contributions to the statistical practice of consulting; for advancing the science of our profession through discoveries made in consulting; for instilling statistical rigor in many areas of application; and for many critical contributions of statistical consulting to advance the common good.

About the Award

In December of 2008, the ASA Board of Directors accepted a gift from Janet Elashoff, daughter of W. J. Dixon, to endow a fund establishing the W. J. Dixon Award for Excellence in Statistical Consulting. The award was established to recognize outstanding contributions to statistical consulting and to honor the memory of Dixon. Award recipients are presented with a certificate and $500. The award is given every year on the recommendation of the nominating committee.

Selection Criteria

The award is given to a distinguished individual who has demonstrated excellence in statistical consulting or developed and contributed new methods, software, or ways of thinking that improve statistical practice in general.

Award Recipient Responsibilities

The award recipient is responsible for providing a current photograph and general personal information the year the award is presented. The American Statistical Association uses this information to publicize the award and prepare the check and certificate.


Nominations are due February 1, and the award is presented at the Joint Statistical Meetings the same year.

Send the completed nomination form, along with a CV and nomination letter in support of the nominee, to awards@amstat.org or the American Statistical Association, attention Awards Nominations, 732 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314.


Please contact the committee chair.

Recent Award Recipients

2017: Janice Derr
2016: George A. Milliken
2015: Janet Wittes
2014: Frank E. Harrell Jr.
2013: Ronald Snee
2012: Gary Grove Koch
2011: Michael H. Kutner