Gottfried E. Noether Awards

Most Recent Winners

Noether Senior Scholar Award

Jianqing Fan

Jianqing Fan

Princeton University

For outstanding contributions to the theory, applications, and teaching of nonparametric statistics.

Noether Young Scholar Award

Anirban Bhattacharya

Anirban Bhattacharya

Texas A&M University

For outstanding early-career contributions to nonparametric statistics.

About the Awards

The Noether awards were established in 1999 as a tribute to Gottfried Emanuel Noether, a leading scholar in nonparametric statistics with interests in research and teaching. Noether’s wife, Emiliana Noether, and daughter, Monica Noether, presented the American Statistical Association with an endowment fund to recognize distinguished researchers and teachers and to support research in the field of nonparametric statistics.

The Noether Senior Scholar Award is given each year to a distinguished senior researcher/teacher in nonparametric statistics, who delivers an invited lecture at the Joint Statistical Meetings the year they are selected. In addition, the honoree is presented with an engraved award and $5,000.

The Noether Young Scholar Award is given each year to an accomplished young researcher. This award is made to foster, encourage, and support both research and teaching in nonparametric statistics. The honoree is presented with an engraved award and $2,500 the year they are selected and delivers a lecture at the Joint Statistical Meetings the year of their award.

Selection Criteria

The Noether Award Committee selects the Noether Senior Scholar based on outstanding contributions to the theory, methodology, and/or novel applications to nonparametric statistics—interpreted broadly—that have had substantial, sustained impact on the subject, its practical applications, and its pedagogy.

The Noether Young Scholar is selected based on significant accomplishments in nonparametric statistics, interpreted broadly to include theory, methodology, and outstanding applications. Eligibility for this award is for those who obtained their PhD degree or an equivalent degree in the past six years.


Nominations for both awards are due by December 15. The Noether Senior Scholar Award and the Noether Junior Scholar Award are presented at the Joint Statistical Meetings. Both honorees deliver invited lectures at the Joint Statistical Meetings during the year of their awards.

A nomination packet should include a nominating letter, three supporting letters, and curriculum vitae. The nominator also may write one of the support letters. Nomination packets should be sent to or mailed to the American Statistical Association, attention Awards Nominations, 732 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314.


Please contact the committee chair.

Recent Award Recipients

Noether Senior Scholar
2017: Hans-Georg Müeller
2016: Jane-Ling Wang
2015: Willem Rutger van Zwet
2014: Raymond J. Carroll
2013: Jayaram Sethuraman
2012: Joseph L. Gastwirth
2011: Jon A. Wellner

Noether Young Scholar
2017: Eric B. Laber
2016: Jing Lei
2015: Han Liu
2014: Arnab Maity
2013: Yingying Fan
2012: Guang Cheng
2011: Ying Wei